The Society of Catholic Medical Missionaries SCMM, (also known as Medical Mission Sisters) was founded in 1925 by Dr. Anna Dengel in Washington DC, United States of America.

It is an international, apostolic, religious order in the Roman Catholic Church. It is governed by its own constitution and is divided into a number of units in 17 countries in Africa, Asia, East Asia, Europe, Latin and North America. At present, the Society has a total membership of 529 professed sisters from 23 different countries and different cultural contexts.

All administrative units of the Society located outside the UK as well as their charitable projects are registered in the respective country and comply with the country’s legislation and regulations.